Uplifting Business Reading

Earlier this year in my “recommended reading phase,” a good friend suggested I read Five Dysfunctions of a Team by Patrick Lencioni.  At the time, I think it was the title that put me off, though I dutifully downloaded it into my iPhone just in case I ran out of books.  As it turns out I did, and boy was I the lucky one.  Lencioni has this interesting way of telling a fable in the first half of the book to illuminate the points, and then spends the later half of the book explaining the theory in more traditional expository prose.

In the end I read only two of his five books from this five pack – but I imagine I will read them all.  They are on the light side, but perfect for the holiday season. Happy reading.

About Dana Carmichael

Dana has a professional interest in Authentic Intellectual Work. This means focusing on improving intellectual quality in the classroom and increasing student engagement. By day, she does this work with a passion. By night, she is a thematic reader, examining a random essential question for the year through fiction, nonfiction, film and general random conversations.
This entry was posted in personal change and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

