End of a Theme – Start of a Blog

Right now I am on the cusp…finishing up exploring the question: What was life like in England from 1066 through 1850? As you can see from the list below, I ended up over in the colonies.
The wild read included all kinds of texts – the top ten being: Pillars of the Earth, The Lady Elizabeth, The Life of Elizabeth I, John Adams, 1776, John Locke in 90 Minutes, Thomas’ Paine’s Rights of Man, Emerson’s essay Self Reliance, A Breath of Snow and Ashes. Still to finish are Portrait of a Lady and An Echo in the Bone.  Not yet started is the final piece, A Midwife’s Tale.
So far the most compelling reads were Blindspot – Best Novel and The Invention of Air, best non-fiction!
About Dana Carmichael

Dana has a professional interest in Authentic Intellectual Work. This means focusing on improving intellectual quality in the classroom and increasing student engagement. By day, she does this work with a passion. By night, she is a thematic reader, examining a random essential question for the year through fiction, nonfiction, film and general random conversations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to End of a Theme – Start of a Blog

  1. Yvonne Hanson says:

    I have not read any of those books listed. I will finish my current book (Three cups of tea) and will pick up one of the last two listed…. Nice job with the blog!

  2. Elise says:

    I loved this concept when you described it the other night, D. It’s going to be a treat to follow your musings as you move through your theme readings!
    Thanks for notifying me — may I post a link to this on my FB?

  3. Lori says:

    I really like this idea, and am always looking for some new books to read. I’ve read two of the books (Pillars of the Earth and John Adams), and historical fiction is one of my favorites, so I can’t wait to add a few of your books to my list.

Leave a Reply

